The BIG news

Ok…so I have not been updating my blog that often as I should be. For that I am sorry. I have been hearing it from a lot of my friends who check up on me through my blog. It has been hard to come on and talk without revealing my big surprise. So here it goes…

I am PREGNANT!!!

I am 16 weeks (4 months) along and since everyone in my family and all my friends know, now I feel it is safe to tell the blogging world too. I am feeling great and have had 3 ultrasounds already. I do not know what I am having yet because you have to wait till about 20 weeks, but yes Sam and I are finding out and we can’t wait. We both would love a boy, but a girl would be amazing as well. We already have names picked out for each, but we are keeping them a secret. We told our families, but no one else. We don’t want to hear the “Well I don’t like that” or “I knew someone with that name and I hate them” type of thing. So mum is the word on the names for now.

Since I am pregnant my Journey has changed quit a bit. I was working out really hard and running everyday or almost everyday. I was eating healthy and going to start training for the Tour de Force bike ride from Washington DC to New York City. I had plans to run a 1/2 marathon, but I am blessed with such a wonderful miracle.

My new Journey…I am working out 2-3 days a week lifting light weights and doing lots of cardio. I am feeling great and I am really trying to eat healthy. It is hard in the summer time with all the ice cream stands open. I am just working on keeping a healthy lifestyle for me and the baby.

My past experience…

This is my second pregnancy, last July I had a miscarriage around 6 weeks and was devastated. It felt like my world was crashing in all around me. No one could ever know the pain of losing a child unless you go through it yourself. Some might say it wasn’t that far along, but it is truly amazing how quickly you fall in love with your child once you find out your even pregnant.

After that experience I wanted to give up trying for ever just so I would never have to go through that pain again. After a month or two I was ready to start trying again. So Sam and I did everything imaginable to start a family right away. I was temping to see when I would ovulate and I was laying almost upside down for 2 hours after, well you know ;).  We tried and tried and it was so disappointing every month when “Aunt Flow” would arrive. Around December I just said forget it ans started focusing on working out and trying to get in better shape for when I was ready. I signed up for the Tour de Force in September and was planning to train for a half marathon. I was excited and all gun ho for this new me I was creating. Sometime during all this I got pregnant and didn’t find out till about mid April. I thought I was late and had no idea I just might be pregnant. How could this happen I wasn’t keeping track of anything or laying upside down after 😉 you know. I had no idea exactly when this could have happened.

I wasn’t watching what I was eating, I went snorkeling on vacation, drank very very little liquor, took hot bubble baths, ate lots of fish, and drinking caffeine. I was having a blast and then BAM… I was blessed with a miracle.

So here is to the next couple months!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary (Food Fit & Fun)
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 11:21:41

    yay stef!! Glad to see that you did a post! 🙂 I am so excited for you and so happy that everything is going well!! you look great !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

