Happy Passover

I haven’t updated my blog in a while and for that I am sorry. I have been having a brain fart and not too much has changed in a while. Last week I did not go on the computer or internet at all and it really felt kind of great. I have been so exhausted after working all day and then going to the gym.

This weekend I spent time with my family, shopping and catching up on other blogs that I follow. My aunt and uncle have been traveling (RVing) through Florida for the past 3 months so it was really nice to see them again. Also, I went shopping at BJ’s (wholesale) for our trip.

Yes…I said trip! Sam and I are leaving Saturday for ARUBA!!!!

We have been there many times before, but I still can not wait to get away and enjoy some beautiful warm weather, sunny skies, and crystal clear blue water. I bought some sun tan lotions and necessities. 

As some of you might know tonight is the first night of Passover.  So Happy Passover to everyone who celebrates. For those of you who do not this is a little info in case you were wondering.

It is the first of the three major festivals with both historical and agricultural significance.  Agriculturally, it represents the beginning of the harvest season in Israel, but little attention is paid to this aspect of the holiday. The primary observances of Pesach are related to the Exodus from Egypt after generations of slavery.

On the first two nights of Pesach, we have a special family meal filled with ritual to remind us of the significance of the holiday. This meal is called a seder Seder (in Hebrew).  We read from a “siddur” Siddur (in Hebrew), (prayer book). Pesach lasts for seven days (eight days outside of Israel).

Seder Plate

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary (Food Fit & Fun)
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 11:33:17

    Lucky you!! Enjoy your vacation to Aruba!! So jealous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

