Feeling Good

I have been working out and eating so much better and I am feeling so AMAZING! Well, besides being incredibly sore and needing help sitting down. It is rather hilarious to see me just trying to sit down on the toilet to go to the bathroom. I have to put one hand on the seat and then lower myself down. It is really kinda funny. I have been doing cardio since Saturday for at least over 45 minutes and on Monday I had my first personal training session with Deon.

Training Session

My first session was a GREAT workout, but it was also for him to access me and see what I can and can not do.  I have really good form, posture, technique, and balance (thanks to yoga). I need work on stamina and endurance which will come with time and more cardio.

The workouts that he does are not just doing one muscle group, but at least 2 or 3 at one time. For example you are squatting while doing bicep curls and then lifting the weights over your head. It is a TOTAL body workout.

Eating Healthy

For the past couple of days I have been eating so much better and even refusing sweets and unhealthy foods. Sometimes it is hard, but since I am feeling so good about what I am doing I do not want to sabotage my hard work. I have been eating more salads, oatmeal, fruits, vegetables, Tilapia, and I even cooked Salmon.

Eggs over easy (1 egg and 1 egg white)

Oatmeal with Blueberries

Eggs cooked

So that gets me back to my dinner tonight. I was standing at the fish counter looking at all the fish. The man behind the counter asked what I wanted and I was like I don’t know how to cook fish. So he said pick a fish and I can guide you on how to cook it. So I picked Salmon and gave it a shot. It was actually really amazing and I know I will be buying it and making it again in the future.


Salmon

  1. One fillet of  Salmon
  2. Heat pan with some EVOO
  3. Add fish skin side down and cook on Medium heat
  4. When it looked half way done I flipped it over to cook the other side
  5. Flip back over and add glaze
  6. Serve and ENJOY! 🙂

Glaze

Whisk together about 2 tablespoons of agave nectar, tablespoon honey mustard, and a tablespoon of light brown sugar.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary (Food Fit & Fun)
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 21:09:17

    hey stef! I like the new layout. I am glad that you are continuing your journey! I look forward to hearing all about it. That is great that you’ll be working with a trainer…I’ve always wanted to experience something like that. How does it work? Will you be doing all of your workout sessions with him? How many days a week did you guys plan for you to work out? Those eggs & oats look delish!!

    Reply

    • Stef Simon
      Jan 29, 2010 @ 23:00:39

      Thank you! Having a trainer is amazing and he really pushes you to do your best. I know I can’t slack off because he will be there to kick my butt into gear. I am only going to him 2 times a week for now and maybe 3 soon. He is pretty booked and they have to squeeze me in somewhere. Since I only do 2 workouts with him he set me up with a cardio plan and a nutritional plan to follow. After this weekend he will switch my cardio and make it a little more challenging.

      Reply

  2. Christina
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 21:16:30

    yummmm salmon!! good job with keeping on top of everything but remember this one tip stef!!!— try not to deprive yourself of ALL sweets- if you let your self have a little sweet thing each day you will not feel the urge to go crazy one day and eat the entire gallon of ice cream in one sitting hahaha keep it up!!!!

    Reply

    • Stef Simon
      Jan 29, 2010 @ 23:04:02

      Thanks for the tip. I did find this amazing ice cream from turkey hill. it is frozen yogurt and all the flavors are good. 1/2 cup for 110 calories. Not too bad. also, breyers I heard has a really good one for 90 calories. So I allow myself the ice cream and Jello makes the mousse in caramel and chocolate for like 60 calories so I dont feel deprived AT ALL!

      Reply

      • Christina
        Jan 31, 2010 @ 19:23:13

        that all sounds so great!! see- we can still eat sweets and stay healthy hahah— check out Edy’s slow churned peanut butter cup— to die for hahah

Leave a Reply

