Pasta with Meat Sauce

Growing up I was never a huge fan of ground beef. I would never eat hamburgers, meatballs, and meatloaf would make me gag.  A year ago something changed and I started eating meatballs, hamburgers and now I not only eat meatloaf, but I make a great meatloaf (recipe to come soon). Tonight I made homemade meat sauce. I made Mary’s (from food, fit & fun) “My Favorite Tomato Sauce”

  • 1 big can of Whole Peeled San Marzano Tomatoes
  • 1 small can of Tomato Paste
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Sprinkle of Dried Oregeno & Parsley
  • Fresh Basil
  • Olive Oil

Saute a small amount of olive oil and garlic over medium heat in a big pot.  Be careful not to burn the garlic!!  After the garlic has had a chance to saute, add the can of Whole Peeled San Marzano Tomatoes and break the tomatoes up with your hands or a wooden spoon.  After the tomatoes are mostly broken up, add the can of Tomato Paste, dried basil, dried parsley, and fresh basil.  Use your judgement with the amounts that you put in.  Bring up to a boil and then let simmer for as long as you can!

That is Mary and Christina’s Tomato sauce. They are both very similar and are Italian so you know it is gonna be good.

I made there sauce and browned some ground beef in a separate pan and then just mixed them together and violla you have meat sauce. I added the pasta with the sauce. You can use any pasta that you like, but I LOVE Rozini Smart Taste

I found Cento product of San Marzano Organic to make my sauce

**Head on over to The Tasty Life where she is having an amazing giveaway!

**Chocolate Covered Katie is giving away a Vita-mix…head over here to enter!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary (Food Fit & Fun)
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 22:38:36

    yummy. Your dinner looks so good! I love pasta. Hope you liked the sauce…nice addition with the meat! I never had a regular meatloaf so I’m curious to see what yours looks like!

    Reply

    • Stef Simon
      Jan 21, 2010 @ 22:35:58

      Thank you and thank you for a great sauce recipe. The meat was really good with it too. Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture of the meatloaf so I will wait till I make it again. Luckily Sam and I love it so maybe next week.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

