Ride in Tuckahoe

So today was my longest ride to date. Sam and I headed out to Tuckahoe to meet up with Nick, his dad and the other group riders. I wanted to get there earlier so I could get my bike seat raised. I have been having REALLY BAD knee pain and it lasted a week. We did not get there early enough so I did not fix it before we left. This caused me bad pain during the ride and will last for about a week. During the ride with every stroke of the pedal I could feel popping in my right knee…OUCH! We did the short loop which was still really long. My longest to date so far. I rode with Nick’s dad most of the time and Nick rode with Sam because they could go a lot faster and I was not able to. Hopefully soon I can get my speed up. We rode 27 miles in 2 hours and 7 minutes.

Nick, His dad, and Sam

Nick, His dad, and Sam

The worst part is that my computer stopped working and could only read my cadence. I averaged 77 today. When I got my bike seated raised after it was just my sensors that were not aligned properly. I could have kicked my self that I didn’t check it. It made the ride harder because I couldn’t judge my time, speed, and distance. Hopefully next week will be better. On our ride we saw farms, horses, sheep, goats, pigs, and a bull. We were chased by yappy dogs and saw all the beautiful leaves changing. Absolutely amazing and beautiful ride. Didn’t realize that all this beautiful countryside was so close to where we live.

Nest to the bull is a tiny ram, then a donkey, and the black little things are piglets playing in the mud

Next to the bull is a tiny ram, then a donkey, and the black little things are piglets playing in the mudWe passed this beautiflu Equestrian Center. I wanted to buy the house. This had everything and the nicest barn/stables you have ever seen.

1025091036a1025091037a1025091037

We passed this beautiflu Equestrian Center. I wanted to buy the house. THis had everything and the nicest barn/stables you have ever seen.

We passed this beautiflu Equestrian Center. I wanted to buy the house. THis had everything and the nicest barn/stables you have ever seen.

When Sam and I got home we were so hungry I burned 1,443 calories on this ride and Sam burned about 1,800. That is a ton of calories burned in just 2 hours…Woohoo. So we ate some leftover pasta and a piece of chocolate banana cake. Then I stretched and iced on the couch and fell asleep sitting up (I must have been exhausted). After I showered I hopped in bed and slept another 2 hours and woke up at 4:30PM. I am still very tired. Right now my knee is throbbing so I am going to go take some Advil or something.

So tired later everyone

Dinner:

I don’t feel like starting a new post so I am just going to add on for now. I made dinner tonight and I wanted to make something easy since I am exhausted and my knee is killing me. So I made some grilled cheese and I wanted a veggie and some protein so I made edamame. I know they do not go together, but it was good anyway. I wanted to make edamame last night, but Sam said it didn’t go with pasta, meatballs, and sausage. I didn’t go with grilled cheese tonight, but he did not make any comments. We are both really exhausted. 10250918091025091809a

When I cook I always look at myself in the microwave and I like to make funny faces. Today I looked at myself and was surprised because I was like wow I look pretty good. I like when I can look at myself and feel beautiful. Might sound silly, but it is not often I feel pretty and on this new journey that I am on I am trying to stay positive thanks to many bloggers and Operation Beautiful. 1025091810a10250918111025091811a

When Sam and I were finished dinner we gave Bru the leftover P-Nut butter jar and I think I might send it to Jiff1025091831b1025091833c

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Oct 25, 2009 @ 20:54:21

    wow congrats on that ride! hey sometimes we just gotta tough things out, righto?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

