Tribute to Buffy

What a day! First, I did not want to get out of bed I was EXHAUSTED. I only got about 5 hours of sleep last night. After my post last night and telling you about the tragic news of our friends dog Sam and I went over to their house and spent a lot of time with them. We also brought them a lot of booze. They are the perfect couple because they both enjoy their cocktails. I am really glad we got to go over and just be with them. It is the hardest thing to do to loose your baby (when I say baby I mean puppy).

I lost my first baby in 2002 and after nine years of being with her it was her time to go. She suffered for many years with occasional seizures and was on regular medicine. After nine years the medicine finally took its toll on her body and she went into kidney failure. What made it worse is that I was 2 1/2 -3 hours away in school and I came home one Friday to her laying on the living room floor basically in a coma. My mom wanted me to be able to say goodbye. I can remember screaming to God that it wasn’t fair and how I hated him for taking the people and things that I loved away from me. I got to lay beside her and hold her for about an hour and tell her that it was ok to go and that I was there with her. She passed away in my arms and my mom and I wrapped her up in a blanket and took her to the vet. It was really peaceful.

The only thing that I was so pissed about and could not get over for a long time is that while at school I asked my mom every night how she was doing and my mom told me she was fine (because she didn’t want me to worry). If she had only told me I could have come home a day sooner while she was still awake. I had no Friday classes because it was canceled and only waited around so that I could pick up Sam after his Friday class before coming on home. Sam could have always taken the train home, but I guess things happen for a reason and it was meant to be this way. IMG

Her favorite chair

Her favorite chair

IMG_0001IMG_0002

Always begging

Always begging

I started this post not thinking it would end in tears, but I guess you never know when you sit down to write a post how it will end up. It could go in a totally different direction just like this one did for me. It was good to remember her tonight and to not take one minute for granted that I have with Bruiser and Sam because life is so fragile and it can change in a blink of an eye.

This post was originally called “Blah kind of day,” because that is what it has been. I was tired, sore from kettlebells and worn out from work today. We got a new student that came from Pakistan and doesn’t know any English and he cried, tried running out of the class, cried some more,  screaming crying, then tried running down the hall and out the doors. He obviously didn’t want to be there today (either did I) so his dad came to pick him up and hopefully tomorrow will be better.

DINNER:

I went to Aversa’s tonight and got 2 rice balls with broccoli and some pirogies with onions for dinner. I just had to heat them up and it was really good. Sam and I both enjoyed them, but dessert was better. I got 2 cheese pockets and we both had a glass of the best chocolate milk in the WORLD, Rosenbergers. 10080918041008091816a1008091816

Leave a Reply

