Bikram

Bikram…YAY!! I attended my first Bikram class today and I loved all 90 minutes of it. Well, there were times when I was looking at the clock saying oh my god is it almost over yet. It was super hot in there. 105 degrees to be exact. Let me tell you I was sweating all over my body and I could see the sweat rolling down my legs…GROSS. It is really hard for me to sweat, but I guess anybody would doing anything in 105 degrees.

You might ask what is Bikram? Bikram is a series of 26 postures and two breathing techniques that are designed to move fresh, oxygenated blood to one hundred percent of your body, to each organ and fiber, restoring all systems to healthy working order, just as Nature intended. Proper weight, muscle tone, vibrant good health, and a sense of well-being will automatically follow. (Bikramyoga.com)

The 26 poses (from http://www.bikram.com.au/bikram_yoga.htm)

postures

Benefits of Bikram:

  • Reshape your body
  • Reduce the risk of sports injury
  • Reduce the effects of stress
  • Clear your mind and calm your soul
  • Tone and strengthen muscles
  • Develop increased strength, balance, flexibility, coordination and endurance
  • Increase your energy level

Why so hot:

  • Muscles, fascia and connective tissue become more elastic, allowing for greater flexibility with less chance of injury
  • Sweating is promoted, which assists the detoxification process ·
  • Blood becomes thinner, clearing the circulatory system
  • Endurance is boosted through consistent practice
  • Your body burns fat more effectively: fat may be redistributed and burned as energy during the class. It is common to lose centimetres in a very short time.
  • The heat produces a fluid-like stretch, allowing for greater range of movement in joints, muscles, ligaments and other supporting structures of the body
  • Capillaries dilate in the heat; more effectively oxygenating the tissues, muscles, glands and organs and helping in the removal of waste products
  • Your peripheral circulation improves
  • Your metabolism speeds up the breakdown of glucose and fatty acids
  • Willpower, self-control, concentration and determination are strengthened in this challenging environment
  • Your heart-rate becomes elevated, and the cardiovascular system gets a thorough workout – heart and lungs.

The hardest pose:

pose2

poseMy favorite pose:

Of course I did not look this good, but it was fun doing

Of course I did not look this good, but it was fun doing

With the really hard poses I just stayed with what I could do or made my own modifications. There were 7 of us in the class and I was right in the middle in between the 2 heaters. Since it was my first time I watched others since the instructor did not do any of the poses and just sat and nicely commanded each movement. It reminded me of dirty dancing when Baby was learning how to dance and they were teaching her the moves and counting off the steps. I know bad analogy, but that is what popped in my head during the class.

I picked up some bagels from next door and then drove home soaking wet. I fixed myself a blueberry bagel and some hot tea and relaxed by watching the ending of Encino Man. Great Movie!

Ate half on the way to yoga and the rest driving home

Ate half on the way to yoga and the rest driving home

This is my new shirt my mom got from Key West

This is my new shirt my mom got from Key West. You can see how wet and gross I am.

Now you can really see how gross I was

Now you can really see how gross I was

09270911270927091131Encino Man…great movie…SHUSH!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 22:13:30

    glad you liked bikram! you are looking good stef 😉

    Reply

  2. terri
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 14:39:00

    Yay!! Now we can go together!!!

    Reply

    • Stef Simon
      Sep 29, 2009 @ 17:59:30

      YES, absolutely! I really like kettlebells too so I have to decide which one to go to tomorrow night

      Reply

Leave a Reply

